Doocot at Harburn House

History

Harburn House was built in 1804 for Alexander Young after Oliver Cromwell destroyed the original mansion. The early stables still remain and are situated two hundred yards north of the house. Nearby, stands a charming dovecote, and like the stables it was built in the 17th century. There is a stone monument commemorating the last visit of King Charles the 10th of France, who was a family friend and frequent visitor to Harburn. In 1875 the entire estate was bought by Thomas Barr, great grandfather of Humphrey Spurway, who with his wife Rozi, are the present owners.

Old Bridge

In 1979, when Humphrey and Rozi took over Harburn from Humphrey's parents, they were advised that the best thing to do with the neglected Georgian mansion was to pull it down. Daylight came in through the rafters and the surrounding gardens and estate had become a jungle. Undaunted, they were determined instead to restore both the house and estate to their original 1804 elegance. Rozi and Humphrey have totally renovated the house and estate, incorporating a very extensive Christmas tree plantation, a commercial shoot and a paradise of lakes and water gardens.